School Advisory Council

Advisory Council



Charlotte Clubb, Principal, ex-officio

Samantha Godfrey, PTA President

Misty Brooks, Teacher Representative

Paul Raybun, Community Representative

John Sutton, Community Representative

Steve Shultz, Community Representative

Melinda Simmons, Parent Representative

Meeting Dates: All Meetings will take place at 8:00am. *Time is subject to change

September 8, 2023

October 2023 (BCS District Meeting, Date TBD)

February 22, 2024

April 2024 (Enka District Meeting, Date TBD)



Each school in Buncombe County has an Advisory Council mandated by the School board.  The purpose of the Advisory Council is to act as a liaison between the school and the community.  The elementary school Advisory Council is made up of the PTA President (if co-presidents are elected, both members serve on the Advisory Council, but each will have one-half vote), one teacher elected by the school’s teachers, and at least three lay people appointed by the Board of Education, with the school principal serving as an ex-officio member.  If you have questions or concerns, please send a letter or e-mail to any member of the council.  These issues will be discussed at the regularly scheduled meetings.

Board Policy regarding Advisory Councils


Application for Appointment to School Advisory Council