2020-2021 SIT Team
2020-2021 School Improvement Team
 
 
School Improvement Teams are required by North Carolina law to develop school improvement plans.  The team is made up of the Principal, Assistant Principal, instructional personnel, instructional support personnel, and teacher assistants, as well as parents of children currently enrolled in our school.  The School Improvement Team representatives are elected by the PTA body.

The General Assembly of North Carolina views parental involvement as a critical component of school success and positive student achievement.  It is the intent of North Carolina that parents, along with teachers, have a substantial role in developing school improvement plans.  Buncombe County Schools encourage and endorse shared decision making as evident in our mission statement, core values, and various policy directives.

School Improvement Teams are considered a public body and are subject to open meeting laws.  Staff, parents and community members are always welcome to attend and observe meetings. 
The meetings will be held at 2:45 pm in the School Conference room or via Zoom conference on the following dates:
  
July 8, 2020 February 4, 2021
July 9, 2020 March 4, 2021
September 3, 2020                    April 1, 2021
October 1, 2020 May 6, 2021
November 5, 2020 June 3, 2021
December 3, 2020   
January 7, 2021  
 
You may communicate directly with an individual on the team or send a request to the entire committee.  The members' names and contact information for the 2019-2020 school year are:
 
Charlotte Hipps, Principal charlotte.hipps@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Penny Caldwell, Asst. Principal penny.caldwell@bcsemail.org  670-5018
Ashli James, Kindergarten ashli.james@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
 Charleen Eldridge, 1st Grade charleen.eldridge@bcsemail.org 670-5018
Debbie Sexton, 2nd Grade debbie.sexton@bcsemail.org  670-5018
 Stephanie Warren, 3rd Grade  stephanie.warren@bcsemail.org 670-5018
Shannon Davis, 4th Grade
shannon.currin@bcsemail.org
670-5018  
Peter Wilbur, Music peter.wilbur@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Caleb Henry, SLMC samuel.henry@bcsemail.org 670-5018
Karen Strickland, Title I karen.strickland@bcsemail.org
670-5018  
     
                                                       
Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation.
All rights reserved. Privacy Statement