2019-2020 SIT Team
2019-2020 School Improvement Team
 
 
School Improvement Teams are required by North Carolina law to develop school improvement plans.  The team is made up of the Principal, Assistant Principal, instructional personnel, instructional support personnel, and teacher assistants, as well as parents of children currently enrolled in our school.  The School Improvement Team representatives are elected by the PTA body.

The General Assembly of North Carolina views parental involvement as a critical component of school success and positive student achievement.  It is the intent of North Carolina that parents, along with teachers, have a substantial role in developing school improvement plans.  Buncombe County Schools encourage and endorse shared decision making as evident in our mission statement, core values, and various policy directives.

School Improvement Teams are considered a public body and are subject to open meeting laws.  Staff, parents and community members are always welcome to attend and observe meetings. 
The meetings will be held at 2:45 pm in the Media Center on the following dates:
  
July 18, 2019 February 6, 2020
July 19, 2019 March 5, 2020
September 5, 2019 April 2, 2020
October 3, 2019 May 7, 2020
November 7, 2019 June 4, 2020
December 5, 2019   
January 2, 2020  
 
You may communicate directly with an individual on the team or send a request to the entire committee.  The members' names and contact information for the 2019-2020 school year are:
 
Charlotte Hipps charlotte.hipps@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Ashli James ashli.james@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Charleen Eldridge charleen.eldridge@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Debbie Sexton debbie.sexton@bcsemail.org  670-5018
,Parent Representative
670-5018  
Whitney Faulkner whitney.robinson@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Shannon Currin
shannon.currin@bcsemail.org
670-5018  
Carly Powell carly.powell@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Karen Strickland ‚Äčkaren.strickland@bcsemail.org
670-5018  
                                                       
Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.