Advisory Council

Advisory Council



Charlotte Hipps, Principal, ex-officio

Stephanie Frisbee, PTA President

Anita Orr, Teacher Representative

Karen Strickland, Title 1

Andrea Sellers, Title 1

Paul Raybun, Community Representative

Julie Thomas, Community Representative

Dennis Thurman, Community Representative

Ian Williams, Community Representative


Each school in Buncombe County has an Advisory Council mandated by the School board.  The purpose of the Advisory Council is to act as a liaison between the school and the community.  The elementary school Advisory Council is made up of the PTA President (if co-presidents are elected, both members serve on the Advisory Council, but each will have one-half vote), one teacher elected by the school’s teachers, and at least three lay people appointed by the Board of Education, with the school principal serving as an ex-officio member.  If you have questions or concerns, please send a letter or e-mail to any member of the council.  These issues will be discussed at the regularly scheduled meetings.