2016-2017 SIT Team
2016-2017 School Improvement Team
 
 
School Improvement Teams are required by North Carolina law to develop school improvement plans.  The team is made up of the Principal, Assistant Principal, instructional personnel, instructional support personnel, and teacher assistants, as well as parents of children currently enrolled in our school.  The School Improvement Team representatives are elected by the PTA body.

The General Assembly of North Carolina views parental involvement as a critical component of school success and positive student achievement.  It is the intent of North Carolina that parents, along with teachers, have a substantial role in developing school improvement plans.  Buncombe County Schools encourage and endorse shared decision making as evident in our mission statement, core values, and various policy directives.

School Improvement Teams are considered a public body and are subject to open meeting laws.  Staff, parents and community members are always welcome to attend and observe meetings. 
The meetings will be held at 2:45 pm in the Media Center on the following dates:
  
September 8, 2016 January 12, 2017
September 20, 2016 February 9, 2017
October 13, 2016 March 9, 2017
November 10, 2016 April 20, 2017
  May 18, 2017
 
You may communicate directly with an individual on the team or send a request to the entire committee.  The members' names and contact information for the 2016-2017 school year are:
 
Stephen Chandler - Principal  stephen.chandler @bcsemail.org  670-5018  
Tyla Moody tyla.moody@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Allison Cathey allison.cathey@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Deborah Crowell deborah.crowell@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Wendy Davis wendy.davis@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Stephanie Frisbee, Parent Representative stephaniefrisbee@att.net 670-5018  
Angela Hall angela.hall@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Anita Orr 670-5018  
Rosanne Rousseau-Cavendar Rosanne.Rousseau@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Nancy Stamey, Parent Representative stmydavid@charter.net 670-5018    
Karen Thatcher karen.thatcher@bcsemail.org 670-5018 
Karen Strickland karen.strickland@bcsemail.org 670-5018  
Andrea Sellers andrea.sellers@bcsemail.org   670-5018
                                                       
Buncombe County Schools is in the process of reviewing its website to ensure compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.